the #nerdy art teacher

andrea slusarski. artist. educator. designer.

Studio Art: Line Lessons

Leave a comment

This is a little late on the posting – but catching up on my projects! My studio art class is a super unique and fun class to teach. At my school, we don’t have an AP program – so, I’ve created Studio Art. Students “apply” to be in this class in their Jr/Sr year. I go through an “application” process only because I want to get my students ready for preparing their portfolios and being interviewed about their art. Technically, they are not required to do this, but it really sets up the tone for Studio Art. These students WANT to be here and they are prepared to work.

To start off the 2016/17 school year – I decided to really break students into the school year technically. To shake off the summer drawing dust, the first two projects were focused on composition and line techniques. 

Check out the project slides HERE.

For the first project, student goals were on CONTOUR LINES + developing COMPOSITIONS.

For the second project, I really challenged their creative thinking here. The whole purpose of Studio Art is to start building each students’ unique style and portfolio. However, getting students to branch more conceptually and on their own is HARD. Give them guidance, but let them research/develop/test/fail/figure out their work. This project was the first one of that type. Students were given the subject of LINE. With a few guidelines, like size requirements and allowed materials, my students were challenged to create a work of art that expressed LINE.

I also find it easier for students to write and reflect on their work when they are creating the project. By giving students a general guidance (Line, Color, Collage, i.e.) you give them enough to start thinking – your job as the art teacher from here takes more of the mentor role of asking questions and leading students’ to their own answers. Following these project we went spent some time on technique workshops then the Imitation Challenge project I wrote about previously.

Leave a comment