the #nerdy art teacher

andrea slusarski. artist. educator. designer.

teaching moments.

Leave a comment

After being challenged multiple times last week from friends for the ALS Challenge near and far, my teacher brain kicked in and I saw this as the perfect teaching moment. The internet and social media are often abused and taken for granted for. However, whatever the message, it all comes down to communication and personal interaction in our society. Last Friday in my painting one class, I asked my students to relate ART to social media. It’s all about that communication right? Just a different method. They’ve all seen ice bucket videos, but many didn’t fully understand the power of an image or video. This lead to such a unique conversation and fun friday in the art room! We looked at The Art of Elysium‘s social movement calling their ART ARMY to raise awareness for their cause to bring the arts to children’s hospital patients. By showing our #ARTHeals, students discussed the power of ART for the individual, media, and world. Students were very shocked that I was encouraging them to post onto social media in school – but when its for the better, why not!? My father always ends his phone calls with the saying “Go forth and do good”, I believe that if we remember to start with the good, we can start to brighten our interactions, our art making, and our voice.

Prezi link to intro the discussion; http://prezi.com/eiknbkbgws7b/power-of-images/ 

10452967_10204483952636200_7402424830933839649_o

#artheals #olyartists

Leave a comment